ABA Elects Savarese Chairman

Dorothy Savarese was elected the 2016-17 American Bankers Association chairman today during the association’s Annual Convention in Nashville, Tenn. Savarese — chairman, president and CEO, Cape Cod Five Cents Savings Bank, Orleans, Mass. — assumed ABA’s top leadership post from Dan Blanton, CEO of Georgia Bank and Trust, Augusta, Ga.

Also elected were: ABA Chairman-Elect Ken Burgess, chairman, FirstCapital Bank of Texas, Midland, Texas; Vice Chairman Jeff Szyperski, chairman, president and CEO of Chesapeake Bank, Kilmarnock, Va.; and Treasurer George Hermann, president & CEO, Windsor Federal Savings, Windsor, Conn.

Elected as new board members were Jim Edwards, president and CEO, United Bank Corp, Zebulon Ga.; Patti Husic, president and CEO, Centric Financial Corporation, Harrisburg, Pa.; Dan Schrider, president and CEO, Sandy Spring Bancorp, Olney, Md.; Louise Walker, president and CEO, First Northern Community Bancorp, Dixon, Calif; and McCall Wilson, president and CEO, Bank of Fayette County, Collierville, Tenn.

Also elected to the board for a one-year term were Government Relations Council Chairman Stanley Jenks, president and CEO, Security Bancorp MHC, Monmouth, Ill.; GRC Vice Chairman Jeffrey Ball, president and CEO, Friendly Hills Bank, Whittier, Calif.; and Alliance of State Bankers Association representative Dan Forte, president and CEO of the Massachusetts Bankers Association.

Read more about Savarese.