Treasury Sanctions North Korean Banks, Individuals

The Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control today announced sanctions against eight North Korean banks, two banks identified as part of the North Korean government and 26 individuals linked to North Korean financial networks. The new sanctions come as North Korea continues pursuing weapons of mass destruction capabilities. The individuals sanctioned are North Korean nationals acting as representatives of North Korean banks in China, Russia, Libya and the United Arab Emirates.