McConnell, Schumer to Be Senate Leaders in Next Congress

The Senate Republican caucus today re-elected Mitch McConnell of Kentucky as majority leader and retained other top Senate leaders for the 115th Congress, including John Cornyn (R-Texas) as majority whip. Meanwhile, Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) was elected Senate minority leader. Dick Durbin (D-Ill.) will be minority whip, while Patty Murray (D-Wash.) becomes assistant minority leader. Sens. Mark Warner (D-Va.) and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), both members of the Senate Banking Committee in the current Congress, will hold vice chairs in the Democratic conference.

Senate Democrats also announced committee leaders. As expected, Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio) will continue to serve as ranking member of the Senate Banking Committee. Among other committees that handle banking-related issues, Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.) will be ranking member of the Agriculture Committee, Bill Nelson (D-Fla.) on the Commerce Committee, Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.) on the Homeland Security and Government Affairs Committee, Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) on the Judiciary Committee and Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.) on the Small Business Committee.