Six Banks to Receive Community Commitment Awards

The ABA Foundation has announced six banks recognized for their outstanding commitment to their communities. The ABA Community Commitment Awards — to be presented on Oct. 16 during ABA’s Annual Convention in Nashville, Tenn. — are given in six categories to honor innovative, high-impact bank programs and projects that produce lasting results in the communities they serve. Bank award winners and categories were:

  • National Cooperative Bank, Arlington, Va., for affordable housing.
  • TD Bank, Baltimore for community and economic development.
  • Triumph Bank, Memphis, Tenn., for financial education.
  • TheBANK of Edwardsville, Fairmont City, Ill., for serving non-traditional borrowers and the underbanked.
  • Montecito Bank, Santa Barbara, Calif., for protecting older Americans.
  • Old National Bank, Evansville, Ind., for volunteerism.

For the third year in a row, the ABA Foundation also presented the George Bailey Distinguished Service Award to an individual banker demonstrating outstanding initiative, effectiveness and inspiration to others. The winner of the Bailey Award is David Devine, SVP and marketing director at Columbia Bank in Tacoma, Wash. In 2015, Devine helped establish the Warm Hearts Winter Drive, an initiative that benefits homeless shelters in local communities throughout Washington state. Devine’s efforts have helped collect more than 12,000 articles of winter clothing and raise more than $150,000 in donations.


About Author