Current, Former ABA Officers Recognized as ‘Bankers of the Year’

The American Bankers Association applauds the bank leaders — all five of them ABA members — honored by the American Banker newspaper in its “Best in Banking” year-end awards. Named one of three Community Bankers of the Year was ABA Chairman-Elect Laurie Stewart, president and CEO of Seattle-based Sound Community Bank. Also recognized among community bankers were Skip Hageboeck, president and CEO of City Holding, Charleston, W.Va., and Mark Turner, president and CEO of WSFS Financial, Wilmington, Del.

Former ABA Chairman Harris Simmons, chairman and CEO at Zions Bancorporation in Salt Lake City, was recognized as Banker of the Year for “repeatedly demonstrate[ing]an ability to see around the next corner, a strong grasp of the operational side of banking, and a determination to play the long game.” Honored for lifetime achievement was Joe Evans, chairman of State Bank Financial in Atlanta, who founded three banks over a long career and was recognized by regulators as “one of Georgia’s best bankers.”