ABA Announces Judges for Community Commitment Awards

The ABA Foundation today shared the names of the experts responsible for judging the 2016 Community Commitment Awards. The winners of the awards will be announced in October at the ABA Annual Convention in Nashville.

The awards program recognizes innovative and high-impact contributions that banks make in six categories. Judges will choose a winner for their designated category based on the creativity and thoughtfulness of the program and if it demonstrates success in measurable terms. This year’s judges include:

  • Affordable Housing: Paul Weech, president and CEO, Neighborworks;
  • Community & Economic Development: Ben Hecht, president and CEO, Living Cities;
  • Financial Education: Nan Morison, president and CEO, Council for Economic Education;
  • Nontraditional Borrower/Under-banked: Ellen Lazar, former senior advisor to the chairman for consumer policy, FDIC, and board member, Corporation for Enterprise Development;
  • Protecting Older Americans: Jo Ann Jenkins, CEO, AARP; and
  • Volunteerism: Evan Hochberg, chief strategy officer, United Way Worldwide.

“The quality of the entries reflects the outstanding effort banks put forth to improve their communities,” said Corey Carlisle, ABA Foundation executive director. “Our judges have their work cut out for them in selecting a winner.”


About Author