Senate Panel Advances SEC, Treasury, FDIC Nominees

The Senate Banking Committee today advanced a group of five nominees for banking-related posts, including Lisa Fairfax and Hester Peirce as Securities and Exchange Commission members, Amias Gerety as assistant Treasury secretary for financial institutions and Jay Lerner as inspector general at the FDIC. Voting “no” to the group of nominees were Sens. Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), David Vitter (R-La.) and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.)