Stewart Elected to Chair ABA

Laurie Stewart was elected the American Bankers Association’s 2019-20 chair today during the association’s Annual Convention. Stewart—president and CEO of Sound Community Bank in Seattle—assumed ABA’s top leadership post from Jeff Szyperski, chairman, president and CEO of Chesapeake Bank in Kilmarnock, Va. Also elected were: ABA Chairman-Elect Jim Edwards, CEO of United Bank in Griffin, Ga.; Vice Chairman Scott Anderson, president and CEO of Zions Bank in Salt Lake City; and Treasurer Luther Deaton, chairman, president and CEO of Central Bank and Trust Co., Lexington, Ky.

Elected as new board members were: Shan Hanes, president and CEO, Heartland Tri-State Bank, Elkhart, Kan.; Howard Jaffe, president and COO, Inland Bancorp, Oak Brook, Ill.; Carissa Rodeheaver, chairman, president and CEO, First United Bank & Trust, Oakland, Md.; James Reuter, CEO, FirstBank Holding Company, Lakewood, Colo.; Michael Scudder, chairman and CEO, First Midwest Bancorp, Chicago; and Daniel Yates, president and CEO, Brattleboro Savings and Loan, Brattleboro, Vt.

Also appointed to the board for a one-year term were Government Relations Council Chairman Dan Robb, president and CEO, Jonesburg State Bank, Jonesburg, Mo.; GRC Vice Chairman Jim Rieniets, president and CEO, InsBank, Nashville; ABA-State Bankers Association Alliance Chairman Howard Headlee, president and CEO, Utah Bankers Association, Salt Lake City; and Alliance Vice Chairman Peter Gwaltney, president and CEO, North Carolina Bankers Association, Raleigh, N.C.