ABA Foundation Invites Entries for 2019 Community Commitment Awards

The ABA Foundation invites entries for the 2019 Community Commitment Awards, which recognize and promote the essential role banks play in their communities. The awards, open to banks of all asset sizes and charters, celebrate financial institutions that have demonstrated noteworthy corporate social responsibility.

Banks may enter in one or all of eight categories:

  • Affordable housing
  • Community and economic development
  • Economic inclusion
  • Financial education
  • Protecting older Americans
  • Supporting military families (new for 2019)
  • Volunteerism
  • The George Bailey Award (for non-CEO bank employees who demonstrate outstanding service to their bank, industry and community)

The awards will be judged by a panel of experts in each field. While the awards are open to banks of all asset classes, institutions will be judged against their peers. Entries are due by July 12.

Winners will be honored in a ceremony during the American Bankers Association’s Annual Convention, Oct. 27-29 in Seattle. All entrants will be included on the ABA Foundation’s interactive, searchable U.S. map that showcases banks’ innovative corporate social responsibility efforts.