Burgess Elected ABA Chairman

Ken Burgess was elected the 2017-18 American Bankers Association chairman today during the association’s Annual Convention in Chicago. Burgess — chairman of FirstCapital Bank of Texas, Midland, Texas — assumed ABA’s top leadership post from Dorothy Savarese, chairman, president and CEO, Cape Cod Five Cents Savings Bank, Orleans, Mass.

Also elected were: ABA Chairman-Elect Jeff Szyperski, chairman, president and CEO of Chesapeake Bank, Kilmarnock, Va.; Vice Chairman Laurie Stewart, president and CEO of Sound Community Bank, Seattle; and Treasurer George Hermann, president & CEO, Windsor Federal Savings, Windsor, Conn.

Elected as new board members were Stacey Bentley, president and CEO, Community Bank and Trust Company, Waterloo, Iowa; Jill Castilla, president and CEO, Citizens Bank of Edmond, Edmond, Okla.; Wesley Hoskins, president and CEO, First Community Bank, Corpus Christi, Texas; Bryan Jordan, chairman, president and CEO, First Horizon National Corporation, Memphis, Tenn.; Andrea Smith, chief administrative officer, Bank of America, Charlotte, N.C.; and Phil Wenger, chairman, president and CEO, Fulton Financial Corporation, Lancaster, Pa.

Also elected to the board for a one-year term were Government Relations Council Chairman Jeffrey Ball, president and CEO, Friendly Hills Bank, Whittier, Calif.; GRC Vice Chairman Jim Reuter, CEO, FirstBank, Lakewood, Colo.; and Alliance of State Bankers Association representative Scott Latham, president and CEO of the Alabama Bankers Association.

Read about Burgess in the ABA Banking Journal.