Treasury Designates New Comptroller of the Currency

Comptroller of the Currency Thomas Curry will step down this Friday, May 5. Curry will be replaced by Keith Noreika, who will be appointed first deputy comptroller by Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin. In that capacity, Noreika will serve as acting comptroller of the currency until President Trump appoints and the Senate confirms a new comptroller. Curry’s five-year term expired on April 9.

Noreika is currently a partner in the financial institutions practice at Simpson Thatcher & Bartlett LLP and was a member of the Trump transition team for the Treasury Department. Throughout his career, he has focused on banking regulation, advising financial institutions on compliance-related matters including the Volcker Rule, CFPB regulations and BSA/AML rules, and representing national banks before the Supreme Court.


About Author