ABA Salutes 2016 American Banker Honorees

The American Bankers Association today applauded the bankers — all of them ABA members — honored by the American Banker newspaper in its “Best in Banking” year-end awards. The three honorees as Community Banker of the Year were:

  • Kevin Kim, chairman, president and CEO, Hope Bancorp, Los Angeles
  • Anthony Labozzetta, president and CEO, Sussex Bancorp, Franklin, N.J.
  • Mark Schroeder, chairman and CEO, German American Bank, Jasper, Ind.

Honored for lifetime achievement was Raymond Davis, president and CEO of Umpqua Holdings Corp., Portland, Ore., and a past member of ABA’s American Bankers Council for midsize banks. Also honored as the innovator of the year was John Hope Bryant, founder of Operation Hope, a frequent partner for the ABA Foundation. USAA Federal Savings Bank in San Antonio was honored as Bank of the Year for 2016 for its approach to technological innovation.

“On behalf of ABA, I congratulate these outstanding leaders,” said ABA President and CEO Rob Nichols. “No matter the size of the bank, they show that customer-friendly innovation and community commitment are in bankers’ DNA.”